“A Change In The Weather Is Sufficient To Recreate The World And Ourselves”

Standard

Well bonjourrr.
I slacked again as far as writing frequently, but I’m not really that sorry about it. My excuse was that I was out living life. I’m sure the topic of weather seems just about exhausted by this point but seriously, my goodness! I don’t think I’ve ever been so contented in the middle of March in Burlington. I mean, look at this forecast – and this is even cooler than what it actually ended up being!

Apocalypse now, baby.

I was actually able to wear dresses three consistent days in a row. Life is grand. Now if only UVM decided to actually be eco-friendly and turn off the heat. Really though, how much sense does this make? It was obviously going to be outrageously warm for at least 4/5 days in a row, yet UVM – a school that constantly boasts about being one with the environment and saving the planet – we waste absurd amounts of energy keeping the heat on during these insane heat waves!  Not only does it waste money, but we as students are melting. Seriously, I do not find it appealing at all to be sitting in class trying to learn while I start to sweat balls because heat is blasting at me in the 80+ degree weather. Let’s use our noggins’, people. Now, I could understand if they wouldn’t turn the heat off for one hot day, but if we know in advance of multiple days, we really should try and penny pinch, the trees will thank us.

I am the Lorax. I speak for the trees. I speak for the trees, for the trees have no tongues. And I’m asking you sir, at the top of my lungs – that thing! That horrible thing that I see! What’s that thing you’ve made out of my truffula tree?


If you guys haven’t been able to see “The Lorax” yet, I highly recommend it. I saw it with my sisters over spring break in 3D and it did not disappoint; and I was an avid The Lorax reader, so I would pretty much call myself a scholar. Yeahup. I also want these bears as pets to snuggle:

I digress.

I’ve been making some progress on the coffeehouse hunt, too. To aid those who actually care about this kind of stuff, and for me for future reference, I decided to be legitimate about this. I just fiddled around on excel for a solid 20 minutes trying to make a pretty chart, but I will call this a fail. If anyone knows how to skillfully work their way around, I would love to learn =) For the time being, I’ll just do a make-shift chart-thing here. Don’t worry, I’m still not super far along, so the list will definitely be growing.

Name                       Muddy Waters                        Uncommon Grounds         Radio Bean

Drink                      Mocha ***                                  Mocha ****                          Raspberry Italian Soda *****

Atmosphere         Super cozy, nice seats              Brighter                                Upbeat, very social
”               ”              Lighting to read by                    Smaller tables                     Arrangement of seats, outdoors
”               ”               ****                                               ***                                         *****

Clientele              Medley ***                                   Medley ***                           Performers ****
”             ”                 Studiers, Gossipers                    Studiers, Readers               Music Lovers
”             ”                 Hangers, Chess Players            Dates, Chess Players          Eccentric, Friendly

Music                   Coffee Shop Jams ****              Coffee Shop Jams ***         Live Awesome Mixture *****

I didn’t put price down because it seems like drinks in this area are all relatively the same unless you’re getting something extravagant or alcoholic.

It’s probably pretty obvious which one is my favorite so far. I actually went to Radio Bean two days in a row so I missed out on trying another shop, it was that good! I took my boyfriend there though and he commented on how he would never get anything done there with all the noise and music and distractions, which is more than true. I happen to have an extraordinary talent where I am capable of tuning out virtually everything around me in order to do homework and read wherever I want – I think it’s a talent acquired from being in a family of 6 with many, many animals and humans constantly running about. So, I have no issue reading a book and planning a paper while artists are performing to adoring friends [and fans], but take heed if you don’t share the same capacity. If you want a place to study a book or read, go to Muddy Waters. If you want a place to do homework that is more like a desk atmosphere, then I recommend heading to Uncommon Grounds. They all have their niche which makes them unique and enjoyable, so get out there and soak in the culture!

Well, my computer is dying, so it looks like I’m signing off. Ten-four.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

