I’m Baaaaack

Standard

Hello, lovelies. I’ve been on Spring Break mode and have been neglecting my blogging duties, but am officially back on my grind… with a lot to share with you!

First off, I got offered an internship over break which I’m pretty stoked about. It’s with digboston, and I’m kind of completely obsessed. It’s a newspaper (online and print) that covers Boston Events, Humor and Nightlife. Eeeee. I recommend all of you to check out the website at least, especially if you live anywhere near the Boston area. If I take this internship it means I will be in Boston at least two days a week, so anyone staying in Boston over the summer hit me up (and let me crash on your couch?!) and we can go gallivanting around Bean Town for the nightlife.

On that note, I came across a festival in Boston called Together and it seems absolutely amazing. It’s the week of April 2nd-8th and I recommend anyone who can to go. It also happens to be Easter weekend, so why not celebrate? I’m trying my best to go at least. Visit the website here, and I’ll post the teaser video for everyone to see and ogle at.

So I’m not sure how the weather was yesterday for all of you, but it was absolutely stunning in Burlington yesterday. I’m hoping it’s not just a tease though; I mean it was 63 at one point! In the middle of March! That’s practically unheard of here. I mean, my freshman year it was snowing during finals week… which was in May. So you can imagine my shock when I was able to go downtown yesterday without a jacket. I’m not complaining or anything, but I’m hoping this isn’t just a fluke and we are back to living in the tundra in a week. Global warming, anyone?

Speaking of Global Warming, picture a polar bear without their fur, because with this steady increase in temperature that is what is predicted to start happening. Not going to lie, but I feel like they will look a little creepy considering their skin in black, and it takes away the cuddly appeal. So, be green and save the polar bears!

Sorry, my eco-friendly Vermont upbringing got the best of me right there. Seriously though, click on that link and see what you can do to decrease your carbon footprint; this shit is real, people. I don’t know about you, but a world that is steadily melting is a pretty frightening concept. Makes me want to visit the polar ice caps sooner rather than later, because who knows how long they’ll actually be around for?

Anyway, I have this new bit where I am going around to all the coffee shops in Burlington and hanging out there to do my homework instead of doing it in my house. Yesterday Muddy Waters was the coffee shop of choice, and I snagged one of the gigantic leather chairs and parked there for about two hours. I am trying to wean myself on to liking coffee, but it’s proving to be harder than I thought. Honestly, I think coffee tastes repulsive; I am strictly a hocho kind of girl, but there are so many options in the coffee world that I kind of feel left out. So, I’m taking baby steps and starting with mocha, and so far so good. For those of you in Burlington, I will be letting you guys know which my favorites are, and maybe I’ll see you there.

Concert Update: While downtown yesterday, I picked up my Bassnectar Tickets, woop woop! The show is on April 17th at Memorial Auditorium, and if it is anything like the April 20th show he put on last year, it’s going to be beyond awesome. Seriously, this guy knows how to kill it. Unfortunately for those of you who weren’t on your grind quick enough, the show is sold out, but I’ll let you know how it is! For those of you who did buy a ticket, I recommend going downtown to Flynn and picking up your tickets before the show. I was chatting with the guy at the ticket window and he informed me there are three big boxes full of tickets, so if you are lazy and wait until the day of the show, you are going to be waiting in a line longer than you can imagine. So be smart! It’s for your own sanity. Unless you enjoy waiting in lines, in which case, rock on dude.

So my right arm feels like it was run over by a truck, which is probably because I fell off a horse yesterday. Don’t worry, falling off really isn’t as bad as it seems, at this point I’m practically a professional and can pick where I land. I guess yesterday I did a somersault in the air in order to land on my butt, now that’s talent. I’m riding this horse for a boarder at the barn I ride/work at, and she’s adorable but has a saucy pony attitude (which I’m totally cool with). I was making her actually work and do things she didn’t want to do, so to show her displeasure she decided to pull a bucking bronco move. Now, normally I’m ace at staying on a bucking horse, my childhood pony trained me well in that area, but Coral Beach takes it to a whole new level. Instead of normal bucking, she does a move called a capriole… peep the below video for a visual aid. She’s got talent, and probably would have made a decent war horse, since that is the origin of the capriole.

Okay, well I think I’m about done here for now. I have an interview for another internship in a little while, but stay tuned, I’ve still got a lot to share. Peace out girl scouts.

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

Share Those Thoughts

