Shpongle My… What?

Standard

So there is this musical group called Shpongle… consisting of the core members Simon Posford and Raja Ram, and their home base is the United Kingdom. They started this masterpiece in 1996 and are still going strong today. I read the following description of the band and realized I couldn’t say it better myself, so here it is:

Dongle and Mongle are the only two other words rhyming with Shpongle…a strange hybrid of electronic manipulation and shamanic midgets with frozen digits squeezing the envelope and crawling through the doors of perception, find a new pair of dice…extra numbers and colours an infinite expanding bubble, filled with a bizzare, strange world of dripping halucinatory wallpaper, a garden of earthly delights…Outer Shpongolia…a place of well being, and reflective surfaces, morphing like an Anacondas skin and shimmering like a million colour changing squid, at fifty fathoms. . truly unfathomable like separating water from it’s wetness, the Ineffable Mysteries unweave …

Yes, I understand that this sounds insane, and in reality, it is insane! I had never heard of Shpongle until a few years ago, and my first time seeing them live was Bonnaroo 2011 which was The Shpongletron, an insane experience that I recommend everyone partakes in. That same summer I was lucky enough to see them again at Camp Bisco 2011, but this time it was Shpongle Live, and equally bizarre yet mesmerizing endeavor (the fact that there was a CRAZY thunderstorm rolling over our heads in the middle of nowhere New York just added to the magic).

The sound of Shpongle is a mixture of eastern ethnic samples and western contemporary psychedelic synth music. Posford does the synth and studio nonsense and Ram adds in with the flute. The music is only half of the experience though, and both are responsible for the intense visuals. Seriously, it is indescribable. As far as my research tells me, Shpongle has six albums released, which are as follows:

  1. Are You Shpongled? (1999)
  2. Tales of the Inexpressible (2001)
  3. Shpongle Remixed (2003)
  4. Nothing Lasts… But Nothing Is Lost (2005)
  5. Ineffable Mysteries From Shpongleland (2009)
  6. The God Particle (2011)

I strongly encourage everyone to at least watch the videos (which are posted in the music category under videos – one of the shpongletron and one of the live performance), their music is pretty awesome, and they’re weird and unique, which is right up my alley!

I took an amazing video of the Shpongletron at Bonnaroo, but last semester (during finals week, of course) my computer decided to doom me and crashed, and the video is out there lost in cyber space =(^2. I did however recover one of the photos I took there, so I’ll share. It’s not very good, but you can at least see the tron.

Behold the Shpongletron

Concert Alert ::
I am addicted to concerts, and living in the Burlington area during the school year and the Providence area the rest of the time, I am lucky enough to have a constant influx of amazing concerts where I can get my fix. Under the music category, there is aconcerts section, which I recommend everybody to check out. Now, usually it will be concerts that I plan on attending, or wish I could be attending, or have already gone to, but that is not to say I want to limit myself. If anyone has any concert info or wants to share, let me know, I love spreading the love of music around.

That being said, Shpongle is coming to Burlington!! The date is May 3rd, 2012 (show at 8:30) and it is via their Masquerade Tour, and they will be playing their DJ Set. Tickets are only $22, and it’s going to be playing at Higher Ground. Come join the experience people!!

About azuremarie

Bonjour, I'm Azure; a healthy dose of eccentricity best taken with a grain of salt. Most people describe me as sassy, and I like that. I love words, and think that anyone who can twist them in their mouth and make something beautiful come out is sexy and someone with whom I want to spend my time. I read a lot (bordering on too much), and am baller at boggle. I happen to be addicted to concerts/live music, and will listen to anything that can carry a beat, and even those that don't. I believe that being normal is boring, and love bright colors. I have a soft spot for animals, particularly dogs and horses, but I am beginning to be a cat person as well. Sometimes, I will admit that I like some animals better than some people - they're great listeners and don't judge. J'adore voyager. Someday I want to be able to look at a map of the world and say "I have been there, there, and there... and there", and have a memory attached to them all. I've recently begun to work at an organic juice bar, and diet/holistic health is starting to become a main passion of mine. I want to be able to experience our world, as well as help save it. Oh, and unicorns exist.

One response »

Share Those Thoughts

